I Like My Mexican Lasagna With A Side Of Exhaustion

Okay. I’m gonna be straight up here. Work has been kicking my ass. I have been working late, working nights, working weekends. I LOVE my job and it is so worth it! I’m a Social/Marketing nerd 8-5pm so this blog shows how unhinged I am to do extra social for fun. But some days I am “le tired”.

But I also have a husband who takes crazy good care of me.

So I have weeks (or months) like my life lately, where I come home from working late and then pull out my computer again to work until my eyes go cross. But to come home yesterday to this recipe cooking, my sweatpants sitting on the chair ready for me, my husband open armed with a huge hug to give me, a glass of wine poured and ready for me. I can’t explain the sigh of relief I had in that moment.

Life sometimes is hard and we get wrapped up in ourselves a lot. But remember, always thank those who show you love with the little things. The stage hands that just want you to perform at your best. And the loony people that tolerate your crazy ass.

He thought this dish was a normal everyday meal but to me this dish is love, maybe not for you but this made my week.

FROM THE CHEF

2-3 tsp. olive oil
2 lbs. lean ground pork
1 onion, chopped small
1 T taco seasoning
1 cup salsa
2 cans of tomatoes & green chiles
6  tortillas, cut in half
1 cup cottage cheese & 1 cup ricotta
1 can (4 oz.) diced green chiles, drained
2 eggs
3 cups grated cheddar cheese

Instructions:

Heat the oil in a large heavy frying pan, add the ground beef, breaking it apart with your fingers, and cook over medium-high heat until the beef is browned and cooked through. When the beef is done, push it over to the side, add a little more oil if needed, and cook the diced onion for a few minutes; then mix the onion with the beef. Add the taco seasoning, salsa, and tomatoes and simmer over low heat until most of the liquid has evaporated and when you draw a turner across the bottom of the pan you don’t see any liquid.
While beef mixture cooks, mix together the cottage cheese, drained green chiles, eggs, and 1 cup of the cheese. Cut the tortillas in half with kitchen shears and spray the slow cooker insert with non-stick spray.
In the crockery casserole dish insert, make a layer of tortillas, using the cut side of the tortillas to go along the straight sides. Use the least amount of tortillas you can to cover the bottom. Make a layer of half the spicy meat mixture, half the cottage cheese mixture, and one cup of the grated cheese (or more). Then make a second layer each of the tortillas, meat mixture, cottage cheese mixture, and grated cheese.
Cover the slow cooker and cook on HIGH for about 2 1/2 hours or until the casserole is bubbling and the cheese is nicely melted.
Original recipe is here: http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2016/02/slow-cooker-low-carb-mexican-lasagna.html*
 screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-8-25-01-pm

FROM THE BLOGGER

*We always do our own take on the recipes we find by not buying branded products because we are poor and the store brand is cheaper and don’t waste time on those extra steps because life is hard enough. But we are not trying to take anyone else’s content or property just redistributing it with my sarcastic commentary.
Leave a Reply

