I’ll Have My (Fish) Cake & Eat It…With A Few Sides

A few years ago my hubby (then boyfriend) and I went on vacation to South Carolina. We were hangry and bickering in the car driving down the road to the pier. I finally screamed “LOGAN I DON’T CARE WHERE WE EAT PULL OVER AT THE NEXT RESTAURANT YOU SEE AND WE ARE F*ING EATING THERE!!!”

He was being stubborn and so he followed my instructions exactly. He pulls right into a creepy dive place that looks like a house. We walk in and everyone there turns around and stares at us. We thought we just made the worst hangry mistake ever.

I ended up ordering the crab cake benedict. Let me tell you. Fights dissipate immediately when they end in amazing food. This crab cake is one of the best things I’ve ever. I have tried to find this hole in the wall for years. We compare that seafood cake to every seafood cake.

Logan and I decided to make some fish cakes. We just wanted to use the Alaskan Pollock that we had a TON of in the freezer. Logan found this recipe and let me tell you this is like a fish cake with tartar all together into one amazing patty.

This is one of my favorite meals. This is my second favorite fish cake and is so close to beating my SC crab cake. I love the crunchy of the pickles and I LOVE the Just Mayo mayo.

We first learned about  Just Mayo when we were watching Bizarre Foods America. This is a project that is funded by Bill Gates and the intent is to start replacing recipes that rely on eggs with plant ingredients that mimic eggs. Eggs are one of the most messed up parts of the farming industry and this replaces eggs in things like mayo. Don’t get me wrong, I love my eggs but I also love the idea of substituting with more sustainable solutions. The only thing that tastes different in this mayo is that it has a lime hint to it which I love! We are converts and HIGHLY recommend it!

FROM THE CHEF

Fish Cake Ingredients

1 cup bread crumbs
1 lb white fish (we used frozen pollock)
1/2 cup chopped dill pickles
1/3 cup Just Mayo
1 egg beaten
Salt and pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 Tbsp fresh parsley
2 Tbsp oil
Fish Cake Directions
1. Lightly process the fish in a food processor. Combine the fish, bread crumbs, pickles, mayo, egg, dash of salt and pepper. Form the mixture into four cakes.
2. Heat 2 Tbsp oil in a skillet on medium heat. Drop the the fish cakes and cook each side 4 minutes.
3. Remove the fish cakes from heat and serve!
*We added a drizzle of sriracha for some additional heat but it is definitely not required.
img_0295
Pauly Dawg is like “Mom give me some fish cakes or cash me outside how bout dat”
Hasselback Potatoes Ingredients
2 russet potatoes
2 Tbsp melted butter
Salt and Pepper
1/3 cup chives chopped
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Thinly slice each potato leaving about 1/4 inch at the bottom to keep it sturdy and intact.
3. Combine butter, dash of salt and pepper, and chives. Pour over potatoes.
4. Bake for 1 hour. The potato should be tender but crunchy.
5. Sprinkle cheese over the potatoes and return to oven for 2-4 minutes to allow the cheese to melt. Remove the potatoes from the oven and enjoy!
Pesto Caesar Salad Ingredients
5 leaves romaine lettuce (or bagged/boxed salad idgaf)
1/4 cup caesar dressing
1/4 cup pesto
Parmesan cheese
Black Pepper
Pesto Caesar Directions
1. Combine caesar and pesto (We used a 1 to 1 ratio because we love pesto. You do you).
2. Shred the romaine (or don’t if it came in a bag or box).
3. Toss the romaine with the lettuce. Finish with 2-3 cracks of black pepper and parmesan cheese. Serve on the side.
img_0304

FROM THE BLOGGER

*We always do our own take on the recipes we find by not buying branded products because we are poor and the store brand is cheaper and don’t waste time on those extra steps because life is hard enough. But we are not trying to take anyone else’s content or property just redistributing it with my sarcastic commentary.

Leave a Reply

