When In Doubt Eat (Cheese) Cake

So getting pretty real here. In May I lost my job due to restructuring so I took some time off blogging to reset our lives. I’ve been interviewing, job hunting, researching, joining professional groups and attending lectures. We’ve also painted a few rooms in our house, moved old appliances out & new ones in. Vacationed, watched more Chopped than I would like to admit and literally chopped all my hair off!

But this week an old friend of mine called me out on the fact that the blog was dead and apparently he missed our posts. Didn’t know we were so popular! So I am going to try to get back into it! I’m going to start it off with an old family recipe!

Side plug: We are still super active on Instagram and have added some food photos from our travels so follow us there as well – @thehubbyskitchen

FROM THE BLOGGER:

(Yes, for real. I actually made this one and the recipe is from memory)

Great Grandma Lilly’s Cheesecake

Ingredients

1 Store Bought Graham Cracker Crust

1 Packet of Cream Cheese

1 Small Tub of Whipped Cream

1tsp Vanilla Extract

1cup of Sugar

A Squeeze of Lemon Juice

Seasonal Fruit

FullSizeRender (1)

Whip together sugar, vanilla, lemon juice & cream cheese until smooth. Then add in the whipped cream. Spoon out the whipped deliciousness into the graham crust. Put in the refrigerator for a few hours to set.

Make the seasonal fruit (I used peaches) by chopping up the fruit and toss it with sugar to make a fruit/sugary syrup.

Enjoy after dinner or if you’re like my mom, for breakfast!

IMG_2700

FROM THE BLOGGER

*We always do our own take on the recipes we find by not buying branded products because we are poor and the store brand is cheaper and don’t waste time on those extra steps because life is hard enough. But we are not trying to take anyone else’s content or property just redistributing it with my sarcastic commentary.
Leave a Reply

